Share Your Story

The Vietnam War, a new documentary series by Ken Burns and Lynn Novick coming this fall, features testimony from nearly 100 witnesses, including many Americans who fought in the war and others who opposed it, as well as Vietnamese combatants and civilians from both the winning and losing sides. Join the conversation by sharing your personal story or a story of your family or community with us by submitting it online via the Public Insight Network or by visiting the KCPT Storybooth as it tours the region. Selected stories will be shared online and contributors will be notified via email. 


Public Insight Network

 Click on one of the below links to share your story online via the Public Insight Network, an online survey tool KCPT uses to engage with local sources. 

KCPT Storybooth 

This summer, the KCPT Storybooth is touring the region collecting local stories related to the Vietnam War. Find the KCPT Story booth at a below location.

Saturday, Oct. 14 to Friday, Oct. 20
Kansas City Public Library - Central Library

Tuesday, Oct. 24 to Monday, Nov. 6th
Olathe Public Library - Indian Creek

Tuesday, Dec. 5 to Tuesday, Jan. 2
Robert J. Dole Institute of Politics

Previous Storybooth stops:

Friday, May 26, to Monday, June 12
National World War I Museum and Memorial

Saturday, July 1 to Sunday, July 23
Harry S. Truman Library and Museum
 
Tuesday, Aug. 8  to Saturday, Aug. 26
Johnson County Arts and Heritage Center

Wednesday, Aug. 30 to Saturday, Sept. 9
Mid-Continent Public Library - Antioch Branch

Monday, Sept. 11 to Wednesday, Sept. 20  
Mid-Continent Public Library - North Independence Branch

Friday, Sept. 22 to Thursday, Oct. 12
Kansas City Public Library - Plaza Branch

View all submissions at KC Vietnam Voices.
 
Questions? Email vietnam [at] kcpt dot org
Photo of KCPT Storybooth at the National World War I Museum and Memorial